Book Review: Time Between Us

Time Between UsTime Between Us

by Tamara Ireland Stone

Published: 4th July 2013 by Random House

Version: Paperback from publisher (review my own, honest opinion)

Rating: 4.5 sofas

Anna and Bennett were never supposed to meet: she lives in 1995 Chicago and he lives in 2012 San Francisco. But Bennett has the unique ability to travel through time and space, which brings him into Anna’s life, and with him a new world of adventure and possibility.

As their relationship deepens, the two face the reality that time may knock Bennett back to where he belongs, even as a devastating crisis throws everything they believe into question. Against a ticking clock, Anna and Bennett are forced to ask themselves how far they can push the bounds of fate, what consequences they can bear in order to stay together, and whether their love can stand the test of time.

Fresh, exciting, and deeply romantic, Time Between Us is a stunning, spellbinding debut from an extraordinary new voice in YA fiction.

As soon as I heard the comparison to The Time Traveller’s Wife, I knew I had to read this book. While they are quite different, I loved Time Between Us just as much. Bennett can travel in time, and can take things and people with him. When he stumbles into Anna in 1995 looking for his sister, he decides to stick around.

This book was as beautiful as its cover. It was romantic, cute and sad and I couldn’t put it down. Heartbreak was inevitable as they did not belong together; his timeline was 17 years ahead of hers. Not to mention the risk that he may ‘bounce back’ at any time. 

I like how it tampered with the idea of the butterfly effect, but I think in practice it didn’t all quite come together. Bennett was very willing to change things for his own benefit, but when it came to someone else he kicked up a massive fuss. Even though his entire presence in the book was wrong! But I have to forgive him, because he is adorable 😉

I thought that Anna too was a really strong character. When cute boy Bennett saunters into her life and offers her what shes dreamt about her whole life, she does take her time and think it over. She has her own personal strengths, and especially in the end I really rooted for her. 

The only thing I didn’t particularly like about the book was that it was over too soon! I felt it ended a bit abruptly, just as I was losing myself in the story. I’m hoping that the sequel will answer all my outstanding questions, and give me greater character development. 

One thing’s for sure, and that is I NEED the sequel, asap! It’s due for release at the end of October, and I can’t wait to find out what happens to Anna and Bennett.

This book is about love, connections and consequences. I adore the idea of toying with fate, and the butterfly effect that ripples afterwards. Strong characters and an enticingly romantic storyline makes for an AMAZING book. Roll on October! 4.5 sofas