Letterbox Love #38

Letterbox Love is a meme hosted by Lynsey of Narratively Speaking whereby book lovers can exhibit the books they received this week.

This week I received some awesome books for review! And I squeezed in a library visit too.  

Received for Review:     

Stray by Monica Hesse

Tribute by Ellen Renner

Blindsided by Natalie Whipple

Leopold Blue by Rosie Rowell

Finding Jennifer Jones by Anne Cassidy

Thanks to Hot Key Books for sending this amazing selection! 2014 is gonna have some awesome books. 

Twinmaker by Sean Williams

Thanks to Electric Monkey for sending over this stunning finished copy.

Library: 

Take Two by Meg Cabot

Angelfall by Susan Ee

What did you receive this week? Have you read any of my books and do you think it should be at the top or the bottom of my to read pile?  I’d love to hear from you! 

Advertisements

Waiting on Wednesday #43

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases we’re eagerly anticipating.

Boys Don't Knit

Ben Fletcher must get to grips with his more ‘feminine’ side following an unfortunate incident with a lollipop lady and a stolen bottle of Martini Rosso from Waitrose. All a big misunderstanding of course. To avoid the Young Offenders unit, Ben is ordered to give something back to the community and develop his sense of social alignment. Take up a hobby and keep on the straight and narrow. The hot teacher he likes runs a knitting group so Ben, reluctantly at first, gets ‘stuck in’. Not easy when your dad is a sports fan and thinks Jeremy Clarkson is God. To his surprise, Ben finds that he likes knitting and that he has a mean competitive streak. If he can just keep it all a secret from his mates…and notice that the girl of his dreams, girl-next-door Megan Hooper has a bit of a thing for him…Laugh-out-loud, often ridiculous, sometimes quite touching, and revelatory about the knitting world, Boys Don’t Knit is a must for boys and girls…

Boys Don’t Knit has been on my radar for a little while. It sounds really funny, and the tagline says it all!      

Due to be released by Hot Key Books in January 2014.

 What are you looking forward to this week?  Please share your WoW in the comments!

Book Review: The Rig

The RigThe Rig

by Joe Ducie

Published: 5th September 2013 by Hot Key Books

Version: Paperback from publisher (review my own, honest opinion)

Rating: 4 sofas

Fifteen-year-old Will Drake has made a career of breaking out from high-security prisons. His talents have landed him at The Rig, a specialist juvenile holding facility in the middle of the Arctic Ocean. No one can escape from The Rig. No one except for Drake…

After making some escape plans and meeting the first real friends of his life, Drake quickly realises that all is not as it seems on The Rig. The Warden is obsessed with the mysterious Crystal-X – a blue, glowing substance that appears to give superpowers to the teens exposed to it. Drake, Tristan and Irene are banking on a bid for freedom – but can they survive long enough to make it? 

Drake is an action hero to rival Jason Bourne and the CHERUB team in this debut author’s fantastically imagined sci-­‐fi nightmare.

For fans of Bourne and CHERUB? Sold! If this book is compared to two of my favourite things ever, then it HAS to be good. Adding to that, I adored the tv series Prison Break so this sounds totally like my kind of book. 

We meet Will on his arrival at The Rig, where he has been sent after breaking out of previous juvenile detentions. But stranded on an oil rig in the middle of a shark-infested ocean, it seems unlikely that he will get out of this one. Not to mention the substance which the Warden is secretly harvesting that gives people special abilities. This book is packed full of mystery and suspense, and kept me turning pages till the very end. 

Character wise, it did take me a while to warm to Will. He is a loner and a bad boy, and I couldn’t really connect with him. I did feel sorry for Tristan, and I enjoyed watching his friendship with Will grow stronger. As for the other inmates, it had more of a school feel than a prison. I know this is YA so wasn’t as violent or harsh as I expected, but there was a lot of banter and pushing-in-the-halls type feeling. 

Although the ending was left open (and I think there is a sequel in the works) , it can be taken as a standalone. I left the book satisfied. I am definitely looking forward to the next one, but I don’t feel the frustration that occurs with most cliffhanger endings. So for that, I thank you Mr Ducie! 

There is a lot of a great world building, and yet I come away with lots of questions, about the world before the Rig, and the Alliance outside of it. What are the plans for this blue substance, and where is it all going? The fact that I come away wanting to know more shows that I really did enjoy the story, and I am eager to delve deeper into this world. 

Overall The Rig was an action packed thriller that kept me gripped to the very end. I can’t wait to find out more about the world surrounding the Rig, and I am behind Will, Tristan and Irene all the way. Definitely recommended for fans of boarding school novels and thrillers. 4 sofas!

Book Review: Vivian Versus the Apocalypse

Vivian Versus The ApocalypseVivian Versus the Apocalypse

by Katie Coyle

Published: 5th September 2013 by Hot Key Books

Version: Paperback from publisher (review my own, honest opinion)

Rating: 4 sofas

A chilling vision of a contemporary USA where the sinister Church of America is destroying lives. Our cynical protagonist, seventeen-­year-­old Vivian Apple, is awaiting the fated ‘Rapture’ -­ or rather the lack of it. Her evangelical parents have been in the Church’s thrall for too long, and she’s looking forward to getting them back. Except that when Vivian arrives home the day after the supposed ‘Rapture’, her parents are gone. All that is left are two holes in the ceiling…

Viv is determined to carry on as normal, but when she starts to suspect that her parents might still be alive, she realises she must uncover the truth. Joined by Peter, a boy claiming to know the real whereabouts of the Church, and Edie, a heavily pregnant Believer who has been ‘left behind’, they embark on a road trip across America. Encountering freak weather, roving ‘Believer’ gangs and a strange teenage group calling themselves the ‘New Orphans’, Viv soon begins to realise that the Rapture was just the beginning.

The primary reason I wanted to read this book was for the road trip. Perfect summer reads, I enjoy the character exploration that usually occurs on road trips. Aside from that, it also seemed to have another layer, relating to religion and the apocalypse.

We follow Viv as her parents are ‘taken’ after the Rapture, and she is left with her best friend to try and piece her life together. She decides to embark on a trip to discover the truth about what actually happened to her parents.

It was everything I wanted it to be, and more. It got me thinking about religion, and whether something like this could happen in the future. I think it is quite a contentious topic, so it was nice to see it tackled in a YA book. It also discussed the issue of Believers who were ‘left behind’, and whether they retained they faith throughout.

Although I don’t believe in religion personally, I am a huge believer of karma and fate.  So the book kind of spoke to me in that those left behind wondered whether it was for a reason, or if they weren’t good enough. But at the end of the day they are probably better people for it. To quote one of my favourite films, its called the pursuit of happiness for a reason. 

What I loved most about the book is Vivian herself. The personal development she undertakes on this journey is remarkable. I think it was most significant for me in the difference between the beginning, in which Peter asks her “What do you believe in?” and she cannot answer. If you compare this to her character at the end, she knows what she wants and has to make pretty tough decisions.

I wasn’t overly taken with the ending. I think it was left pretty open for a sequel, which is always frustrating! That being said, I can see why the author did it as it does suit the overall spirit of the book.

Vivian Versus the Apocalypse was a book that got me thinking about a possible future apocalypse, and also what a great excuse for a roadtrip it is!  A true tale of self discovery. 4 sofas!

Letterbox Love #25

Letterbox Love is a meme hosted by Lynsey of Narratively Speaking whereby book lovers can exhibit the books they received this week.

I’m going to try and post a weekly book haul so that I don’t have as many to talk about at once! We’ll see how that goes… 

 

Received for Review:

Every Day by David Levithan 

Thanks very much Egmont! I can’t wait to meet David in October and so excited for this.

Vivian Versus the Apocalypse by Katie Coyle

The Rig by Joe Ducie

Friday Brown by Vikki Wakefield

The Elites by Natasha Ngan

THE ELITES! Thank you SO much to Hot Key Books for all these pretties! I’ve heard amazing things about the Elites so far, and all the others look amazing too 😀 

Bought:

The One That Got Away by Lucy Dawson

Solace of the Road by Siobhan Dowd

Sweet Little Lies by Lauren Conrad

Gloss by Marilyn Kaye

Freebies:

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter (free with Shout magazine)

Library:

What Have I Done? by Amanda Prowse

Ebooks: 

The Name On Your Wrist

The Name on Your Wrist by Helen Hiorns. Thanks to Random House and Netgalley. This is the winner of their Movellas Award and I’ve been told it is absolutely amazing.  

 

What did you receive this week? Have you read any of my books and do you think it should be at the top or the bottom of my to read pile?  How do you like a book haul vlog as opposed to an actual post? I’d love to hear from you!