Film Review: Breaking Dawn Part TWO

This film has been muchly anticipated by me, and indeed the whole world! Obviously I’ve read the books and I did enjoy them. I have seen the other films; I think Twilight or Eclipse is my favourite. I wasn’t a huge fan of Breaking Dawn Part One. I know it is a big-ish book and by splitting it into two parts, we should get more detail. But I just don’t feel there was enough action in either part to captivate the audience. 

Firstly, I will just say that I did enjoy the film. I have seen it twice now, and will probably get the dvd when it comes out. However, there were just a couple of things that irritated me, thus preventing it from being amazing, in my opinion. 

Firstly, the intro scene is soooooooooo long. Like, seriously. I thought ‘Skyfall’ was bad; at least we had some action before. This one jumps straight into the credits, most of whom I haven’t heard of; ‘Boo boo Stewart?!’ Five minutes later when the film starts, I’m already asleep. 

Luckily the film starts just as the last one left off. Eyes open, and boom! She’s a vampire. Now this is my first irritation; this is the first scene with vamp-Bells, and therefore it is very important. So I don’t see why the film guys thought it necessary to alter the entire setup. Just not how I pictured it at all! And the bit in the book where Bella jumps out the window, and rips her dress and stuff. All gone. 

There just seemed to be bits missing from the book to really piece the story together. Obviously the Jacob/Reneesmee thing is gonna be a bit weird anyways, given that she’s a baby. This is kinda glossed over (as is the bit where he gets naked in front of Bella’s dad (!)) , and is fine, up until the bit where he asks Edward if he should call him dad. Funny, but a bit too paedophilia-like, in my opinion. 

Also the fact that Jacob tells Charlie as a way to get Bella and co to stay. Why doesn’t Jacob just go with them? And surely they have to leave soon anyways due to the non-aging thing? Why is this never discussed? Nor how they are going to explain Renesmee to anyone, given that she will hit puberty/adulthood in 7 years! 

I thought the fight scene was done very cleverly, without giving too much away, and it added a much needed suspense to the film. I think I have to give it 4 sofas, as I love the series, and I’m glad this wraps it up nicely, but it’s probably more of a 3.5 for standalone quality. 

Do you agree/disagree? Have you seen it? Can you explain the gaping holes in the storyline? Let me know in the comments! 

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 2 Movie Poster