Blog Tour: Book Review of Ever by Jessa Russo

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Jessa Russo’s Ever!

Seventeen-year-old Ever’s love life has been on hold for the past two years. She’s secretly in love with her best friend Frankie, and he’s completely oblivious.

Of course, it doesn’t help that he’s dead, and waking up to his ghost every day has made moving on nearly impossible.

Frustrated and desperate for something real, Ever finds herself falling for her hot new neighbor Toby. His relaxed confidence is irresistible, and not just Ever knows it. But falling for Toby comes with a price that throws Ever’s life into a whirlwind of chaos and drama. More than hearts are on the line, and more than Ever will suffer.

Some girls lose their hearts to love.

Some girls lose their minds.

Ever Van Ruysdael could lose her soul.

I don’t read a lot of paranormal books. I used to, but I think the boom of vampire/werewolf/angel books put me off. So why was I so excited to read Ever, you might ask?

Well everyone knows I am a sucker for a pretty cover. And look at it!  Its just so awesome. I love the twinkling sunlight, it makes it seem a bit hippy-esque and makes me think of summertime beaches;  like I imagine California to be like. And yay for brunettes!  But wait, why is the guy all misty like? And why does Ever look so sad?

Well that’s because Freddie is a ghost, and Ever can’t touch or feel him since the car accident two years. Her best friend at the time, Ever can’t imagine life without Freddie. She wishes they could be more than friends, but she has to face facts; he is a ghost and always will be. So when Toby moves into Freddie’s old house and takes a liking to Ever, she gives in to the romance and the feelings she gets from him.

Aside from the ghost thing, this book was 70% romance, which suited me just fine. The triangle between Ever, Freddie and Toby is thrilling, sexy and makes for good reading. Tbh I thought Ever was a bit of a drip. There were so many questions surrounding Toby and I twigged pretty early on what his story was. So I was kinda annoyed at how naive Ever was. But I should give her credit, as her only male contact all her life is a ghost. She would quite often ask (important) questions and then either get distracted or tell whoever to get lost before they had a chance to answer. Make up your mind girl!

The majority of the supernatural stuff was crammed into the last 25% of the book and I felt there was too much going on. Ever kept pushing everyone away so we never get the answers to a lot of questions, and I just found it to confusing and wishy washy. I knew what was going on, but it felt like it had either been cut short or possibly had bits added to link to the sequel. 

That being said, I really enjoyed this book, especially the first half. And of course Ms Russo left us with a MASSIVE cliffhanger, so I have no choice but to read the second one!

Luckily for you, Jessa is kindly giving away a paperback copy of Ever and its sequel Evade, so you don’t have to wait to find out what happens next!

Enter at her blog here:

International giveaway!

If you want to read the book straight away, then check it out on Amazon or Barnes and Noble.

One thought on “Blog Tour: Book Review of Ever by Jessa Russo

Leave a Reply

