Blog Tour: Book Review of A Matter of Fate (Fate series #1)

A Matter of Fate (Fate Series, #1)

A Matter of Fate (Fate Series, #1)

By Heather Lyons

Release Date: 30/08/12

 /Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Chloe Lilywhite struggles with all the normal problems of a typical seventeen-year-old high school student. Only, Chloe isn’t a normal teenage girl. She’s a Magical, part of a secret race of beings who influence the universe. More importantly, she’s a Creator, which means Fate mapped out her destiny long ago, from her college choice, to where she will live, to even her job. While her friends and relatives relish their future roles, Chloe resents the lack of say in her life, especially when she learns she’s to be guarded against a vengeful group of beings bent on wiping out her kind. Their number one target? Chloe, of course.


That’s nothing compared to the boy trouble she’s gotten herself into. Because a guy she’s literally dreamed of and loved her entire life, one she never knew truly existed, shows up in her math class, and with him comes a twin brother she finds herself inexplicably drawn to.

Chloe’s once unyielding path now has a lot more choices than she ever thought possible.

Review

Welcome to my stop on the A Matter of Fate blog tour hosted by YA Bound.  Click HERE to see the rest of the blog tour schedule!

This book was such a surprise for me. Once I learnt of the fantasy element I was a bit dubious, but don’t let that put you off! This book is full of romance and action, and kept me wanting more. Chloe is the main character, who is a Creator. Meaning she is the second most important person on the planet (after the current Creator). She is just starting to learn about the Magical world and her Fate as a Creator when she learns she is under attack. Cue members of the Guard, who are assigned to protect her at all costs.

While all that is going on, the boy she has been dreaming about since she was a child turns up in her Maths class. The boy that she fell in love with, and who abandoned her last year, never to be seen again. Not only that, but he has an amazingly good looking twin. Ordinary teenage life doesn’t seem so bad after that!

I think the romance between the brothers in this book was really good. There is something mysterious about Jonah that made me want to turn the pages. Like does he realise who Chloe is? And why did he abandon her last year? Add into the mix his bad boy twin, and the book just sizzles.

I have to say my favourite character in this book was Cora, Chloe’s cousin and best friend. She is so fiesty, her character just leaps off her page. On The College Crawl’s post about the book, it is suggested Jennifer Lawrence should play Cora. After seeing her in the Silver Linings Playbook, I totally agree!  I also kind of fell for Chloe’s bodyguard, Karl. Unfortunately he is married, but he is the perfect character.

This is a book that has it all; romance, action, teenage angst and fantasy. Perfect for fans of Kasie West’s Pivot Point!

4 sofas from me 🙂

Heather Lyons

About the Author

Heather Lyons has been putting stories to paper since she was a little girl. Her first “published” book was a humorous retelling of The Princess and the Pauper. After detours in archaeology and teaching, she is now writing and living in Southern California with her husband and three sons. She likes cupcakes, baseball, hockey, reading, and collecting far too many handbags.

 Website / Twitter / Goodreads / Facebook / Tumblr

 

Giveaway

Enter below to win one of (10) e-book copies of A Matter of Fate, open Internationally!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Letterbox Love #13

Letterbox Love is a meme hosted by Lynsey of Narratively Speaking whereby book lovers can exhibit the books they received this week.

Welcome to my 2-week haul post! First from my beloved library:

P1050119

Kill Order by James Dashner. This was an amazing series, and I can’t wait to find out how it all began! I resisted buying this for my birthday as I knew I had it on order. Thank god I didn’t have to wait long 🙂 

Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson. I have wanted to read this for ages, but had to wait for my library to order a copy. Finally it is in! 

Survive by Alex Morel. I returned a proof copy (MetaWars- my 4 sofa review coming soon) on Saturday, and I just couldn’t resist picking up another. It is compared to the tv series ‘Lost’ which I loved, so I HAD to take it home. Right?….

Now for ebooks:

Ever (Ever, #1)A Matter of Fate (Fate Series, #1)

 

 

Ever by Jessa Russo. Thanks to her for letting me take part in the blog tour! So check back on March 21st for my review. I know it is gonna be good though, I mean look at the cover! So mysterious and pretty….

 

I’m also taking part in the blog tour for A Matter of Fate by Heather Lyons. Thanks to Nereyda from YA Bound for organising. Check back on February 28th for my review of this supernatural YA debut!

 

I tried not to request any books this week, as I am still waiting to hear from Harper Collins about all their lovely Edelweiss books 😦 But I doubt I will get approval anyway! So Netgalley sent me an email, and I thought I’d just check what was new, and got a bit carried away….

Hidden (Avena, #1)

There are Reasons Noah Packed No Clothes

 

Hidden by Marianne Curley. Thanks to Bloomsbury! The cover is gorgeous, I love the blue against the black and white cover.

 

 

There are Reasons Noah Packed No Clothes by Robert Jacoby. Sometimes simple covers are the best, and I thank Cloud Books for a copy of this. This is about a 19-yo boy who overdoses. I love hospital/illness type books, so I am expecting good things!

 

Heart Like MineFragments (Partials, #2)

 

Heart Like Mine by Amy Hatvany from Atria Books. I requested this because it has kids in it! Lol. The plot seems really interesting, very Jodi Picoult-like. I haven’t heard of this author before, so I am excited to see what this is like.

 

Finally, but certainly not leastly, Fragments by Dan Wells. I know I haven’t read Partials yet, but I got it in my birthday haul. And everyone has given it good recommendations. Many many thanks to Harper Collins, you guys rock! If only you would approve me on Edelweiss….

 

 

  What did you receive this week? Have you read any of my books and do you think it should be at the top or the bottom of my to read pile? I’d love to hear from you!