Film Friday #3

Welcome to my new feature, Film Friday. Here I will recap the films I have watched this week, and ones that I have either discovered or talked about. 

Watched: 

So unfortunately I haven’t had much time for films this week. My sister has been visiting from Newcastle and she (shockingly) doesn’t enjoy films, so I haven’t had much chance to watch anything! Business should resume as normal next week though. But what should I go see? Lets have a look at my choices:

Safe Haven (2013) PosterHansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters (2013) PosterSafe Haven

I went to a book signing by Nicholas Sparks last week, and the two main stars of the film joined him. I’m a sucker for a good girly film, so I will definately be seeing this at some point. And I loved Josh Duhamel in Life As We Know It.

Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters

I want to see this (not just for Jeremy Renner) but because it looked like a good fairy tale reboot. After the double Snow White film bonanza last year, we have this and Jack and the Beanstalk to look forward to. However, I’ve heard a couple of bad reviews so I’m not sure anymore.

Broken City (2013) Poster

Cloud Atlas (2012) PosterBroken City

I’ve got to confess I don’t actually know much about this plot. But a crime thriller with Mark Wahlberg? Surely it must be good…

Cloud Atlas

This is the film I am looking forward to the most. I haven’t read the book, but the idea sounded really intriguing. However, after only a week of being out, by cinema has gone to only showing it once a day, so I don’t know if this will be a wait to dvd now.

I would love your opinions please! Have you seen any of the above? Which do you think sounds best? Let me know below!

I Am Sam (2001) Poster

I Am Sam

Yes I know this was on last week’s list. But I just finished it yesterday! So it still counts. What an emotional film! There was a scene where Dakota Fanning wouldn’t let go of Sean Penn that just had me in tears. I found the ending a tad anticlimatic, but maybe that was because the film lasted two weeks for me!

Heard/Talked about:

The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars has a director! This means it is definately going to happen, right?! I’m excited to see what they do with it, compared with other teen cancer movies (Now Is Good, My Sister’s Keeper, among others).

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes / Robocop

What? I hear your confusion. I only talked about this movie last week, surely I can’t still be talking about it! But such massive news was released this week, I can’t not share it with you! So. Confirmed cast star. None other than: Gary Oldman! I know, right?! Oh Sirius. After checking out his IMDB profile, I discovered he is also starring in RoboCop (the remake)! This man just keeps getting cooler and cooler. He would be such an amazing uncle.

 

 

That’s my film wrap up for this week. What are your opinions/thoughts? What should I see this week? What do you think of Gary Oldman? Have any recommendations for me this week? 

Leave a Reply

