Blog Tour: Book review of The Clearing (The Outside #2)

Outside (Outside, #1) The future is divided by Perimeters: high-security gated communities where life goes on as normal. If you’re inside you’re lucky. If you’re outside, life expectancy takes a nose dive.

Riley is fortunate to have been born on the right side of the fence. But her life of privilege comes crashing down when someone breaks through and murders her sister. 

She forsakes her own safety to go in search of the killer. Luc decides to go with her otherwise she’ll be dead before she’s past the security gate. But what awaits her outside is more unbelievable that she ever imagined.

Cut to the present day where Eleanor’s world is falling apart. This time next 

The Clearing (Outside, #2)

year, civilisation won’t be quite so civilised…

                                           

In the ravaged future, children are disappearing.

Riley lives safely behind her Perimeter Fence, but soon she’ll have to confront the terrible truth of what’s happening outside. An old enemy is approaching. Threatening to extinguish her way of life. 

To save herself, she will have to fight to save another. She must put herself in the last place she ever wanted to be.           

So today I am lucky to be taking part in my first blog tour. When I got sent the info about Shalini Boland’s The Outside series, I knew I had to read it. In the first book, Outside, we immediately leap into the action. Set in a post-apocalyptic world, Riley lives inside a perimeter fence, created and guarded by her ancestors. When her sister is killed, she enlists the help of her neighbour, Luc, to track down the killer. This the book follows Riley and Luc on their road trip to find and avenger her sister’s killer. 

This book is told from two point of views: Riley’s and Eleanor’s. I really liked the style of writing, as both POVs had an interesting story to tell. This book is quite similar to Blood Red Road by Moira Young, and that is probably the only niggle I had about the book. I really enjoyed it and loved how the story came together at the end. There was a really good twist, and it gave me high hopes for book 2! 

The Clearing‘ starts where we left Riley as she returns after her road trip. Then it is discovered that soldiers are threatening to invade their perimeter. If the perimeter is destroyed, then their lives will be in imminent danger. Children are being taken to be trained for this supposed army. Thus Riley and Luc have to go undercover to the place where children are taken, to try and rescue Liss and Fred, kids which were taken many years ago. 

Once again there are 2 POV’s: Riley’s and Liss’. I think this really adds to the story, and I’m glad the author has carried this through to the second book. While Liss and Fred were mentioned in the first book, the second is more centrally focussed on them, a direction which I didn’t expect. I think it works really well though, and there are many emotions in this book to play with. Loneliness, anger, action, romance. This book has it all. I actually preferred this novel to the last book; mainly because it was a direction I hadn’t anticipated, and it was different to other books, that I could remember! Once again there are twists and turns which surprised me, and the action kept me on the edge of my seat! 

The only thing I missed in the second book was continuation from the first. Some of the plotlines in the first book were not continued in the second, and I hope that the third book will tie these up nicely. 

I really enjoyed both books in the series, but more so in the second. Thus I hope the third continues this upward slope! 4 sofas to the Clearing. Click on the blog tour button below to follow the other blogs in the tour! 

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Book review of The Clearing (The Outside #2)

  1. Glad you liked the first two books in The Outside series Debbie. Have to say my OH had read the first and I have read the second. I enjoy Shalini’s style/structure of writing.

    Thank you for hosting Shalini on the tour!
    Shaz

  2. Pingback: Fiction Addiction Book Tours : Tour details for The Clearing (Book 2) by Shalini Boland | Fiction Addiction Book Tours

  3. Pingback: Fiction Addiction Book Tours : Tour round-up The Clearing by Shalini Boland | Fiction Addiction Book Tours

  4. Pingback: Fiction Addiction Book Tours : Tour round-up The Clearing by Shalini Boland | Fiction Addiction Book Tours

Leave a Reply

