2013 TBR Pile Reading Challenge

Evie from Bookish is hosting a challenge here to read books released in 2012 and earlier. The idea is to read some of the books thats been lying around in your to-read pile for a long time, and maybe give them the airing they deserve. 

I am going to aim for 11-20 (A friendly hug) books released this year. I think this is doable, and I can always read more if I get round to it. But I know how tempting it is to read new books! The books I would like to read in 2013 are: 

  • Divergent by Veronica Roth
  • Dodger by Terry Pratchett
  • Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner
  • The Terrible Thing that Happened to Barnary Brocket by John Boyne
  • City of Shadows by Alex Scarrow
  • Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry
  • Heart-shaped Bruise by Tanya Byrne
  • Starters by Lissa Price
  • Intrusion by Ken MacLeod
  • Itch by Simon Mayo
  • Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
  • This is not Forgiveness by Celia Rees
  • Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts
  • One Born Every Minute by Maria Dore
  • An Act of Love by Alan Gibbons
  • Virals by Kathy Reichs
  • When I was Joe by Keren David
  • Della Says OMG by Keris Stainton
  • The Enemy by Charlie Higson
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

I’ve sort of cheated in that I have picked 20 books that I know or am pretty sure I can get from the library. This way I have no excuse, as I can get my hands on them! Some of them I have sitting around the house, and some are just ones I really need to get around to reading, especially the start of series like Charlie Higson, Patrick Ness and Kathy Reichs. 

It is so easy to miss great books, and I think it is always good to try something outside your comfort zone. I really look forward to this challenge, and will keep you posted how it goes! 

Leave a Reply

