Film Review: Ruby Sparks

Having not seen ‘Little Miss Sunshine’, I didn’t really know what to expect. The trailers for ‘Ruby Sparks‘ looked quite funny and quirky. The story follows Calvin, a writer who uses a typewriter to write about his dream girl, Ruby. One morning, she appears. He discovers that anything he writes about her comes true, thus every man’s dream.

I have to start by admitting that I did miss the first ten minutes of the film, so I have no idea why Clavin started writing. However, I came in just as Calvin’s brother finds a bra in his apartment. The film is funny, and has some really laugh out loud moments. I also felt tears in my eyes at one point, so it does really take you on an emotional rollercoaster.

I think the film explores a really interesting concept, and I love that as well as the happy parts, it also shows Calvin being controlling of Ruby, as I think this is what it would be like in real life.

However, being released so close to another geeky/quirky film (‘Perks of Being a Wallflower’) I have to draw comparisons. I didn’t love the character of Calvin as much as I did Charlie, and I think Calvin was far too serious for my liking. Although Ruby was supposedly his dream girl, he never really does anything romantic for her, and the film constantly shows her in the kitchen, which is very stereotypical. However, the scene where she won’t let go of his hand is extremely funny, and I don’t think I had many laugh out loud moments in ‘Wallflower’.

Overall I did really enjoy ‘Ruby Sparks’, but I don’t think it had the impact on me that ‘Perks of a Wallflower’ did. Perhaps it was because I didn’t expect much of Wallflower, whereas I had high expectations of Ruby.

Let me know if you agree/disagree!

Leave a Reply

