Film Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I very nearly missed out on seeing ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower‘ in the cinema, but I am so glad I didn’t! Everyone I read/talk to is raving about this film, but I wasn’t sure. There never seems to be much luck with book-to-film adaptations, so I didn’t really hold my hopes up. But the trailer looked good, although my cinema only showed the film for just over a week! I luckily managed to sneak in on the last showing, and I loved it.

Logan Lerman who plays Charlie is the perfect choice, and I thought he played his role really well. He is the main character, who is just starting high school. His best friend committed suicide, and he has no friends. That is, until he stumbles upon brother-sister duo Patrick and Sam (Emma Watson).

I thought it would be difficult to see Emma Watson as anyone other than Hermione, but I think the short hair really suited her. Although I didn’t really believe her story as much as Charlie’s, I still really enjoyed the film. There are some beautiful moments, such as the part also featured in the trailer where Sam stands on the back of the truck as they go through the tunnel.

I did nearly cry at one stage, when I just felt for Charlie so much! He is adorable. I have to say I haven’t read the book (by Stephen Chbosky) but I will be putting in an order at the library, just to compare. I think the film was good at tackling the quirky awkwardness of teenage life, and the emotions of friendship.

But the big question is, which is better; book or film?

Leave a Reply

